Space Scene – WIP

Well, I hope everyone had a great Labor day weekend!

We just got back from a great trip over on the Oregon Coast. It was beautiful and amazing to be disconnected from the city gridlock. Very refreshing to be disconnected from internet and cell phone.

oregon_coast

So with that in mind, this week’s post is minimal.

I’ve been wanting to do a space shot for a while now. I’ve had one of concepts from the box set of Doug Chiang concept sketches from Star Wars Episode 1 hanging in my studio for years. For some reason I’ve really been drawn to it.

spaceShot_dchiang_concept

So I decided to do a variation on this concept. Here’s a quick layout of the scene to block it in (I know impressive, right?)

spaceShot_3d_layout

Here’s the planet and star field plugged in.

spaceShot_wip

Floating cubes in the space…nice.

Now to design the large ships and small ship.

Leave a Reply

