Photoscan testing

Well, I have a version of Photoscan and now I’m going to do some testing.

This is my late at night attempt at it. Here are photos of this metal cast of a dog we have for a door stopper.

dog_photos

I brought these into Photoscan and aligned masked out the area I didn’t want calculated.

photo_masked

Now I run a photo alignment

photoscan_photo_aligned

This generates “cameras” for each photo I have. I didn’t shoot many and only got a small swatch of the object. You run “build Dense cloud”. Depending on number of photos and resolution you select this can take a little bit.

photoscan_point_cloud

Once the point cloud is processed you then generate it into a mesh.

photscan_dog_mesh

Here it’s great because it’s projecting the texture on the form as well.  Here’s version with only geometry with a purple shader.

photscan_dog_mesh_no_texture

I exported out the geometry as .obj into Maya.

maya_dog_geo

I need to generate uvs and export out the texture map still and setup a proper shader with test render. But for a night’s quick test not bad. I’ll be posting a proper and cleaned up example in the future weeks.

 

One thought on “Photoscan testing

Leave a Reply

